Baseball: Two of My Favorite Sayings

I love baseball movies, and I love Bull Durham more than all the rest combined. Here are two sayings by the female protagonist that should explain how I feel about both baseball and the film:

“Walt Whitman once said, ‘I see great things in baseball. It’s our game, the American game. It will repair our losses and be a blessing to us.’ You could look it up.”

“Baseball may be a religion full of magic, cosmic truth, and the fundamental ontological riddles of our time, but it’s also a job.”

3 thoughts on “Baseball: Two of My Favorite Sayings”

  1. Dr. Young, I must say I really like these quotes. Right now I am preparing myself for the Rangers game to come on in just a few minutes. At this point in time, it is the first time in 33 years the Rangers, America’s team, has made it this far into the playoffs. Tonight it is Tommy Hunters turn to do his job and put the Rangers up 3-1 in the series and put the Rangers that much closer to advancing to the World Series. It’s the Rangers time to shine tonight. LET’S GO RANGERS! Jake McGlaun

  2. Dr. Gail, these are some fabulous quotes. I like the one where it says that "Baseball is full of Magic" because last friday night, when the Rangers beat the Yankees, I could feel the magic. I had tears of joy slowly trickling down my face, and I've never been more proud of a team in my life.Blake Langford

Comments are closed.